Sweat Test: From 102 to 54!

Posted on Updated on

I found out my sweat test results today:

Age 3: 110 (Weight 80mg, Na 93, Cl 110)
10/9/12: 102 (Weight 357mg, Na 110, Cl 102)
24/10/12: 54 (Weight 345mg, Na 60, Cl 54)

This means I have improved from 102 to 54 after 4 weeks of Kalydeco! This is very similar to the trial results where the average improvement was from approx 100 to 52 (a drop of 48 points, exactly the same as my drop).

I am very excited by this result, it means this summer I get to keep half my salt! It also hopefully means I can travel to asia and not get quite so dehydrated!

Most importantly it means that Kalydeco is helping my CFTR channels to function more normally. I am now below the 60 cut off commonly associated with the diagnosis of CF. This definitely fits with my pft increase! So amazing that two tablets a day can change CF so much!

Some information about sweat tests:

For infants up to and including 6 months of age, a chloride level of:
Equal to or less than 29 mmol/L = CF is very unlikely
30 – 59 mmol/L = intermediate means that CF is possible
Greater than or equal to 60 mmol/L = CF is likely to be diagnosed

For people older than 6 months of age, a chloride level of:
Equal to or less than 39 mmol/L = CF is very unlikely
40 – 59 mmol/L = intermediate means that CF is possible
Greater than or equal to 60 mmol/L = CF is likely to be diagnosed

Source: http://www.cff.org/AboutCF/Testing/SweatTest/

One thought on “Sweat Test: From 102 to 54!

    SnapInTime said:
    November 4, 2012 at 12:46 am

    Wonderful news!!! What fantastic, tangible evidence of just how well Kalydeco is working for you. May the benefits continue. 😀

Leave a Reply

